Orthodontics Books
Esthetics and Biomechanics in Orthodontics by
This text provides state-of-the-art reference on the successful application of biomechanics in clinical orthodontics. It features comprehensive guidance on basic biomechanic principles to orthodontic problem resolution by focusing on the fundamentals. Also including new, cutting edge topics, this book shows how all techniques can apply biomechanical principles to improve the force delivery, understand and prevent side effects, and achieve predictable results. Highly regarded lead author, Dr. Ravindra Nanda, is a widely known and respected educator in the field of orthodontics. Comprehensive coverage of diagnosis, treatment planning, and esthetics in tooth display provides a solid foundation in orthodontia and biomechanic problem solving. Case reports include high-quality photographs, radiographs, and illustrations to better show biomechanical principles. Radiographs and line drawings accompany clinical photographs to help illustrate the various stages of treatment. NEW! Content on the fundamentals that guide orthodontic tooth movement offers a clear understanding of how orthodontic appliances work and their role in designing treatment methodologies. NEW! Content on procedures and indications for optimal space closure helps you define priorities in treatment planning and understand all the treatment alternatives. NEW! Detailed information on biomechanics-based management of impacted canines provides treatment planning strategies and biomechanic techniques to achieve desired results without increasing treatment time. NEW! Coverage on modalities for the treatment of Class III malocclusions offers insight into new treatment protocols - such as corticotomy-assisted facemask therapy and corticotomy-assisted maxillary protraction - that are available to effectively treat these occurrences. NEW! Detailed information on the different forms of skeletal anchorage (including mini-implant technology) shows how certain challenges associated with types of tooth movement can now be overcome by applying sound biomechanical principles to skeletal anchorage. NEW! In-depth coverage of the Surgery First (SF) treatment plan offers step-by-step examples to help explain the technique of Sendai SF and its benefits
Fixed Orthodontic Appliances by
This guide to fixed appliance-based orthodontics is designed to serve as a comprehensive 'how to' manual. With the aid of a wealth of superb illustrations, instruction is provided on all aspects of fixed appliance treatment, including bracket placement and positioning, archwire selection and engagement, use of auxiliaries, placement of fixed retainers, and wire bending. The supporting text presents important information underpinning the selection of attachments and mechanics, emphasising the relative merits and demerits of the various approaches with appropriate use of key referencing. It will offer detailed support on the use of fixed orthodontic appliances for undergraduates and postgraduates and those starting with practical orthodontic treatments, while providing a valuable refresher and reference for more experienced clinicians.
Orthodontics by
Comprehensive, cutting-edge content prepares you for today's orthodontics! Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 6th Edition provides evidence-based coverage of orthodontic diagnosis, planning strategies, and treatment protocols, including esthetics, genetics, temporary anchorage devices, aligners, technology-assisted biomechanics, and much more. New to this edition is an Expert Consult website using videos and additional visuals to show concepts difficult to explain with words alone. Expert Consult also adds three online-only chapters, research updates, and a fully searchable version of the text. From respected editors Lee Graber, Robert Vanarsdall, Katherine Vig, and Greg Huang, along with a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, this classic reference has a concise, no-nonsense approach to treatment that makes it the go-to book for orthodontic residents and practitioners! Comprehensive coverage provides a one-stop resource for the field of orthodontics, including foundational theory and the latest on the materials and techniques used in today's practice. Experienced, renowned editors lead a team of expert, international contributors, bringing the most authoritative clinical practice and supporting science from the best and brightest in the industry. More than 3,400 images include a mixture of radiographs, full-color clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatment, techniques, and outcomes. Extensive references make it easy to look up the latest in orthodontic research and evidence-based information, and all references also appear online. Detailed, illustrated case studies show the decision-making process, showing the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. NEW! Seven all-new chapters include Orthodontic Diagnosis and Treatment Planning with Cone-Beam Computed Tomography Imaging; Upper Airway, Cranial Morphology, and Sleep Apnea; Management of Impactions; Iatrogenic Effects of Orthodontic Appliances; Minimally and Non-Invasive Approaches to Accelerate Tooth Movement; Management of Dental Luxation and Avulsion Injuries in the Permanent Dentition; and Patient Management and Motivation for the Child and Adolescent Patient. NEW! Expert Consult website includes online-only chapters, instructional videos, many references linked to PubMed, and research updates including additional case studies. UPDATED CHAPTERS include Biomechanical Considerations with Temporary Anchorage Devices, Bonding in Orthodontics, Clear Aligner Treatment, Lingual Appliance Treatment, Psychological Aspects of Diagnosis and Treatment, Clinically Relevant Aspects of Dental Materials Science in Orthodontics, The Biologic Basis of Orthodontics, and more. New co-editor Greg J. Huang is joined by new contributors who are highly regarded experts within their respective subspecialties in orthodontics.
Biomechanics and Esthetic Strategies in Clinical Orthodontics by
This text provides state-of-the-art reference on the successful application of biomechanics in clinical orthodontics. It features comprehensive guidance on basic biomechanic principles to orthodontic problem resolution by focusing on the fundamentals. Also including new, cutting edge topics, this book shows how all techniques can apply biomechanical principles to improve the force delivery, understand and prevent side effects, and achieve predictable results. Full-color illustrations help the reader visualize and grasp key concepts. Line drawings accompany clinical photos to clarify important information and techniques. Chapters are organized from the most common to least common orthodontic problems, creating an easy-to-follow layout that makes the topics easy to find. Inclusion of cutting edge topics such as skeletal anchorage, esthetic concepts, interdisciplinary treatment, biomechanical factors, biology of tooth movement, and management of orthodontic problems presents current trends in orthodontics. Information on the latest advances in the use, selection, and properties of orthodontic wires exhibits all viable options for important decision-making. Comprehensive coverage of diagnosis, treatment planning, and biomechanical strategies provides knowledge of how to apply specific mechanisms to specific problems. Simplified approach makes biomechanics easy to understand and implement. Presentation of nonextraction treatment modalities explains how to use headgear, Herbst appliances, memory alloy springs, and other methods to yield predictable results. Solid information on treating malocclusion shows readers how simple changes in arch wire bending can greatly improve tooth movement quality.
Contemporary Orthodontics by
Now in full color, Contemporary Orthodontics, 4th Edition is a practical resource with a long tradition of excellence. Line drawings and more than 1,000 new color images illustrate concepts more clearly than ever. This book includes detailed information on diagnosis, treatment planning concepts, related problems or controversies, and current treatment procedures, including the role of orthodontics in comprehensive treatment of patients with multiple problems. A NEW full-color design includes a total of more than 1,400 clinical photographs and illustrations. Application of the "soft tissue paradigm" to modern orthodontic diagnosis and treatment planning. Critical evaluation of controversies in treatment approaches and treatment timing. NEW information on the use of cone beam CT for 3-dimensional evaluation of dental and facial dimensions and relationships, and 3-D superimpositions to evaluate treatment response. Problem-oriented treatment planning, with use of digital technology to develop a database that can feed through to the treatment plan. Updated content on biomechanics to help you plan efficient use of modern orthodontic appliance systems. NEW skeletal anchorage techniques using bone anchors and mini screws. Chapters on adult treatment featuring the sequencing of multidisciplinary treatment, the new approach to lingual orthodontics, and a discussion of surgical vs. orthodontic treatment options. Full-color design includes hundreds of clinical photographs and illustrations with brighter, more engaging text and more demonstrative figures. Diagnosis and treatment planning chapters are revised to consider new paradigms to teach students and orthodontists how to apply the results of current research to their practice and treatment plans. Current technologies and advances in contemporary treatment provide clinicians with ways to make treatment planning and execution more efficient. Updated content on biomechanics gives clinicians ways to plan appropriate orthodontic appliance systems through which mechanotherapy is delivered using principles of forces. Updated information on mechanical devices, such as transplants, transpositions, implants, and temporary anchorage using mini screws, provide an understanding on how these devices can affect orthodontic treatment and what is available on the market to improve treatment outcomes. Appliance chapters have been condensed to reflect only the most useful and contemporary materials. Chapters on treatment for adults have been rewritten to include new concepts in periodontics and new clinical cases with predictions and outcomes and discussion of surgical vs. orthodontic treatment options. Early treatment chapters have been consolidated and new research included in the reorganization of content to make it consistent with the best data available in the literature. Every section of the book begins with a "section opener" to outline the main concepts discussed in that section.