General Topics in Dentistry
Basic Sciences for Dental Students by
The 'all-in-one' solution to mastering basic sciences in preclinical dentistry Basic Sciences for Dental Students is a cutting edge textbook specifically designed to support the needs of early years undergraduate dental students. Written by leaders in dental education and active oral and dental researchers involved with student assessment, the text explains the basic science that underpins the dental curriculum in undergraduate dental courses worldwide. Specifically related to dentistry and future clinical practice, chapters cover all of the introductory subjects that students need to know - biomolecules, cell biology, tissues of the body, cardiovascular, circulatory and pulmonary systems, the nervous system, immunology, oral microbiology, pathology, head and neck anatomy, tooth development, craniofacial development, saliva, and dental materials. Key features: Provides the basic science that underpins the early years of a dental curriculum Specifically tailored towards dentistry and future clinical practice Written by leaders in dental education and active oral and dental researchers Includes learning objectives and clinical relevance boxes throughout Self-assessment questions and downloadable figures are hosted on a companion website Basic Sciences for Dental Students is an indispensable resource for undergraduate dental students, especially those in the early years of their studies. It is also a useful revision tool for postgraduate MJDF and MFDS examinations and overseas candidates sitting their OREs.
The Complete Dentist by
The Complete Dentist: Positive Leadership and Communication Skills for Success is a one-of-a-kind guide to starting and running an effective and successful dental practice. Presents tried-and-true ideas and methods for effective communication, blending positive psychology with leadership in dentistry Describes the five elements of success and happiness, offering pathways to a flourishing dental practice Considers the reasons why communication and leadership skills are important for dentists
Detection and Assessment of Dental Caries by
This book explains how to optimize clinical conditions for detection of the earliest visible signs of dental caries and how best to assess caries activity as a basis for effective management. The available evidence from the literature on detection criteria and methods is distilled and placed in a clinical context to facilitate implementation in clinical practice. Guidance is offered on removal of the dental biofilm and the potential impact of various factors on the performance of different caries detection devices. The histological changes that occur during the caries process and their effect on the clinical appearance of caries lesions are explained. In addition, several caries classification systems based on visual detection criteria and designed to allow staging are presented. Consideration is also given to currently marketed detection aids, including methods involving light fluorescence, transillumination, and radiography. In each case, a summary of the detection performance, based on available supporting evidence, is tabulated together with advice on appropriate clinical application. The reader will find the text to be clearly written and informative, with many supporting clinical images.
Handbook of Local Anesthesia by 
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
This full-color text prepares dental professionals to promptly and proactively recognize and manage medical emergencies that may occur in the dental office. It details how to anticipate potential emergencies and what resources must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. The book is arranged in eight sections concentrating on topics such as prevention of emergencies through patient evaluation (medical history) and specific types of more common emergencies that practitioners may encounter. "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies."Reviewed by: European Journal of Orthodontics, March 2015 "..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Dental Caries by
The second edition of Dental Caries: the Disease and its Clinical Management builds on the success of the prestigious first edition to present an unrivaled resource on cariology. The clinical thrust of the first edition is widened and strengthened to include coverage of the disease in all its variety, from eruption of the first primary tooth to the prevalent forms of the disease in older patients. The centrality of caries control and management to the dental health of all populations is further emphasized, as the book goes beyond the successful treatment of carious lesions to demonstrate the long-term consequences of the non-operative and therapeutic techniques employed.
