Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Covidence: Review Management Tasks

Review Management Tasks- Table of Contents

Click on the link below to jump to the section of this page discussing that aspect of managing your review in Covidence:

Deduplication of References

We recommend using a citation manager to remove duplicate articles before importing your references into Covidence.  Covidence automatically removes some duplicates, but it is not perfect.

Check duplicates button

To check the number of duplicate articles Covidence removed, click on the Import Studies button at the top of your review.  On the Manage Imports tab, you will be able to see how many duplicates were removed and verify their accuracy.

Select "Not a Duplicate" to remove articles from duplicate list

If you click the Check duplicates button, Covidence will show you the duplicate articles and allow you to select Not a duplicate if you want to keep an article for screening.

Tagging References

Covidence comes pre-populated with two tags: Ongoing Study, and Awaiting Classification. To use tags, simply check the box to the left-hand side of those citations you wish to tag.

Covidence tag menu

You can add a new tag to this list by typing your term in the "Tag with:" field and clicking "create new".  

Create a new tag in Covidence tag menu

Once created and applied to references, you can also filter by these tags. This can be especially useful to get a quick count of how many references received each tag. 

Using the filter menu to search for tags

Tags (as well as any notes entered) will currently export to Excel/CSV. For this reason, they are also visible to your co-reviewers.

Linking Full Text to References

Citations must be in the Full Text level in Covidence for you to add PDFs to them. You can bulk upload PDFs using Endnote or Mendeley.  To manually attach full-text PDFs for your full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
1. Locate and save the PDFs for your articles.  (Shortcut: You can type the article title into Google Scholar on the UAB Libraries website to get the Full Text @UAB Libraries link or a free PDF elsewhere online)
2. Go into the Full Text Screening stage of your Covidence Review.  Select Add full text for the article.
 

Covidence Add Full Text button

3. Locate the PDF on your computer and save.

4. A View full text button will now appear instead of the Add full text button.

View Full Text in Covidence

Requesting an Article

If you use Full Text @UAB Libraries and the requested resource is not available through UAB Libraries, you will get directed to our catalog that says "Your search did not match any physical resource in the library."  Next, you will scroll down to the "Get It" section of the page to "Request article from Lister Hill Library or Mervyn H. Sterne Library via Interlibrary Loan. You may also try your search in Google Scholar as some resources are available there that the library does not own.

    

 

You can log in with your Blazer ID and password to request the article.  The first time, you'll need to register, but click the link again after registering and it will take you to the request form.

Once you submit a request, in about 1-3 business days with an email saying the article is ready to download.  Follow the link in the email, log in with your Blazer ID and password, and go to the Electronically Received Articles tab to download your article.  You must download the article within 30 days.

This LibGuide is based on one originally created by the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina.  We are grateful that they allowed us to use their guide as a template.  

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer