Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books and E-Books
Lister Hill Library has over 135,000 books in both print and electronic formats. To find a book, start with the library catalog. For books you can also choose E-books link on the left ribbon on the LHL homepage. Check out the short (< 2 minutes) video below, or scroll down this page for screen shots, search boxes and more information.
If you can't find a book...
If the subject you are searching for is not health related, to check the Mervyn H. Sterne Library catalog.
Check even if the subject is health related, especially if it is a multidisciplinary area such as:
- basic sciences, biology and chemistry
- environmental health
- exercise physiology
- government documents
- health business
- health education
- materials science
- sociology or social work
You may request books through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Books and E-books
To find a book, start with the library catalog or choose one of the E-books links on the LHL homepage.
- The catalog lists online and print books, journals, and other resources by title, author and keyword.
- For print books you will see the call number, and whether the book is available to check out.
- You can use the e-books search on the homepage to find e-books.
- E-books can be read by clicking on "View." Off-campus, you will be asked for Blazer ID and password. See examples of each below.
If you work in the health center and need books from the main branch of Lister Hill Library, you can have them delivered to LHL@UH for pickup. Information about the LHL@UH Book Delivery Service
These resources allow you to search by keyword across all the books in the resource's library. Some include an option to search for images and integrated drug databases. Images may be used for educational/clinical purposes such as class assignments. Book collections are found individually on the Databases page.
Includes textbooks, images, video/audio, diagnostic tests, current practice guidelines, patient education information, & test/study tools.
Clinical information platform supporting research, learning, & point of care decision making. Includes Procedures Consult.
In order to access book chapter PDFs you must create an individual account.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Collection of e-books available on the EBSCOhost platform. E-books available on this platform may be checked out or read online using an internet browser, and the full text of each e-book can be searched.
LWW Health Library
Provides clinical and educational content including books, audio files, videos and case studies.
R2 Digital Library
Collection of health science e-books.
1 simultaneous user (unless otherwise noted in the catalog record).
Large collection of online science books. Deselect "include preview only content" to see only titles available at UAB.
Checking out books
You can locate the call numbers for books and other materials through OneSearch. Chose the Library Catalog scope in the search box dropdown and perform your search.
Find the book using the call number, or browse the shelves on the 2nd floor. To assist with your search, each of the shelves have call numbers and/or general subject areas posted on them.
All items should be brought to the HUB on the 1st floor for check out.
If you have any questions, please call the HUB at (205) 934-3306 or (205) 934-2230.
More information about checking out books