Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find It @ LHL:
Find articles

Orientation to library resources and services

  Finding journal articles

Lister Hill Library has both online journals and an extensive print journal collection.  Some print journals in the collection are over 100 years old!  Currently, we purchase e-journals, not print.  Use the library catalog or e-journal list to see what holdings the library has for a specific journal.

To find journal articles, use a database to search by subject, author or specific journal. The  list of LHL resources is found on the Databases page.  You can also find search boxes for the PubMed, Scopus and Google Scholar databases on the LHL homepage.

Smartphone Users:  Many library databases and resources now have mobile websites.  See the list here.  Click on the Mobile link in the "Access Information" column to get instructions for each.

 

 

Some useful databases for biomedical research include:

  • CINAHL  (nursing and allied health)
  • Embase  (biomedical)
  • PubMed  (biomedical)
  • PyscINFO  (behavioral sciences and mental health)
  • Google Scholar  (Google search of scholarly articles)
  • Scopus  (science, social sciences,biomedical and more, includes times cited and bibliographies)

After retrieving citations, link to full text when available using   .  View FAQ about using Article Linker.

If the article is not available at LHL, LHL Interlibrary Loan can get the article for you in 1-2 business days for free (UAB employees/students)  Learn more about all document delivery services.

Strategies for Successful Searching

1. Identify key concepts and brainstorm search terms for each

2.  Build search strings using "and" "or" and, sometimes, "not"

  •  Learn more about Boolean operators here 
  • "And" narrows your topic, "or" broadens it

3.  Choose the right resources or databases to search

  • Consider books and e-books for background information. Articles can provide current information and answer specific   questions. Use articles to find evidence for evidence-based health care.
  • PubMed (medicine) and CINAHL (nursing) are good starting points for peer-reviewed biomedical articles

4.  Use search tips or Help files in the database to focus your searches

  • Each database searches differently. Some use subject terms that include popular synonyms.  Others search by  keyword
  • PubMed and CINAHL have "limits"  for language, patients ages, publications types, date, and more

5.  Ask a Librarian if you get stuck!

Chat with a Librarian

 

Contact us:
Lister Hill Library
2nd Floor
205-934-2231

Sterne Library
HUB Desk
205-934-6364

Help with Databases

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer