Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genetic Counseling: Articles

Information & resources for finding literature on genetic counseling topics.

Search PubMed

Search Google Scholar

Don't pay for full text! Set your preferences to show UAB Libraries Holdings.

Google Scholar
 
 
 

Find Full Text from Citation

If you need to see if the library has the full text of an article for which you have a citation, this page of our Finding Full Text guide shows you the most efficient way to look this up. 

Ask A Librarian if you're having trouble finding or requesting full text.

Find Articles by Topic

To search for articles on a certain topic, you will need to search a database. Below are links to key databases relevant to genetic counseling. Also see the Databases page for a complete list of all available databases.

Full Text@UAB Libraries

Look for this button when you're in a database:

 

When you find a citation or reference to a specific article, the Full Text@UAB Libraries button supplies the best available path to the content:

  • Full text of the article if we have it
  • Table of contents of the journal, which links to the full text of the article
  • Database home page, which then must be searched to retrieve the full text
  • Google Scholar to see if there is a free version
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) request form if we don't have the article at all

How to use Full Text@UAB Libraries

After clicking on the Full Text@UAB Libraries button you will either be taken directly to a page with access to the article or you will be taken to a page with various options including a Google Scholar search and Illiad request forms.

Working Off Campus

You can access almost every UAB Libraries electronic resource from off campus through the library website. Use your Blazer ID/password to log in from off campus. Look for and click this button to check for full text:                                                                                                        

Setting up Journal Alerts in PubMed

Click the image below to view the brief tutorial below to learn how to set up email notifications for new articles published in specific journals.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer