Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genetic Counseling: Books & E-Books

Information & resources for finding literature on genetic counseling topics.

eBook Databases

icon

AccessMedicine

Includes textbooks, images, video/audio, diagnostic tests, current practice guidelines, patient education information, & test/study tools.  Individual login required for Review Questions.  Specific instructions on using AccessMedicine.

icon

ClinicalKey

Clinical information platform supporting research, learning, & point of care decision making. Includes Procedures Consult.
In order to access book chapter PDFs you must create an individual account.  Specific instructions on using ClinicalKey.

icon

Thieme MedOne Education

111 e-Textbooks, 730 images and nearly 60k images that support medical school curriculum.  Specific instructions on using Thieme E-Book Library. 

icon

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Collection of e-books available on the EBSCOhost platform. E-books available on this platform may be checked out or read online using an internet browser, and the full text of each e-book can be searched.  Specific instructions on using eBook Collection.

icon

R2 Digital Library

Collection of health science e-books.  Specific instructions on using R2 Digital Library.
1 simultaneous user (unless otherwise noted in the catalog record).

Search Catalog

Search the UAB Libraries catalog

 

Search WorldCat

If UAB Libraries does not have the print book you are searching for, you can search for the item in libraries nearby. Request books you need through our free Interlibrary Loan Service.

Visit WorldCat.org >>
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover
book cover

Types of Books Available at Lister Hill Library

Books are excellent resources for locating basic reference information, background material, or an overview of a topic. Below are the most common types of books available at Lister Hill Library:

Circulating Books can be checked out for a period of 4 weeks and can be renewed twice (click here for circulation details). 

Reference Books located on the 1st floor and are only for use in the library (non-circulating). 

Dissertations and Theses can be found on the 2nd floor under the W4 call number. You can also look up the specific title for a UAB health sciences thesis or dissertation in the catalog using the subject term 'theses' or by searching the UAB Digital Collections.

Reynolds Historical Library is located on the 3rd floor of Lister Hill Library. It houses a collection of over 13,000 rare books and manuscripts pertaining to the history of medicine and science. See Reynolds-Finley Historical Library's website for more information.

E-Books (online books) are books that you can read in their entirety online. If you are off campus, just enter your BlazerID/password to access the full text.

Let me know if you need help finding a book. Also, let us know if there are any titles you would like to suggest the library purchase.

How to Search for E-Books

Books and E-books

The library catalog lists online and print books, journals and other resources by title, author and keyword. For print books you will see the call number, and whether the book is for use in the library or is available to check out.  E-books can be read by clicking on "Available Online." Off-campus, you will be asked for Blazer ID and password. See examples of each below.

screenshot

screenshot

School of Health Professions Liaison

Profile Photo
Megan Bell
Contact:
Lister Hill Library
1700 University Blvd.
2nd Floor; 251 J2
205-934-2231

How Are Books Organized at Lister Hill Library?

LHL uses NLM Classification system, which covers the field of medicine and related sciences.

Google Books

If UAB Libraries does not have the print book you are searching for, you can search for the item in Google Books, then request the book you need through our free Interlibrary Loan Service.

Google Book Search
© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer