Research Guides: Master of Science in Engineering Management: Codes, Specifications, and Standards

Databases for Engineering Standards

The UAB Libraries do have physical copies of some specific standards. The best way to find out whether we have access or not is to use OneSearch to find the specific technical standard you're interested in. If we don't have the standard that you need, whether it is from ISO, ANSI, or produced by another organization, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) or request that we purchase it and add it to the UAB Libraries collection.

You may also find our guide on Safety Data Sheets useful for your work.

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Access to UAB subscribed journals and conference proceedings published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to our subscriptions to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Includes all standards, books, papers, and journals published by ASTM International (American Society for Testing and Materials). Covers engineering disciplines including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines, and to active, archived, and superseded IEEE standards. Also included are the Bell Labs Technical Journal, the MIT Press eBooks Library, and VDE Verlag Conference Proceedings.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to EDGE research reports, technical papers, standards and e-books related to mobility engineering systems in automotive and aerospace industries.

While not technically UAB-subscribed databases, here are some other locations where standards can be searched for and viewed for free.

Note: Not all content from these sources are free, and some resources may require you to create an account with the webpage for access.

Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) Standards
AHRI maintains a continuously evolving portfolio of over 100 performance rating standards and guidelines for the HVACR and water heating industry.
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards and Guidelines
Some ASHRAE standards and guidelines can be accessed at this link, though not all of them may provide full-text access. They may also be purchased through this link.
ANSI Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.
ASSIST Quick Search
Searchable database of full-text defense and federal specifications and standards published by the United States Department of Defense.
Ecma International Standards
Since 1961 and continuing in full force today, Ecma International facilitates the timely creation of a wide range of global Information and Communications Technology (ICT) and Consumer Electronics (CE) standards.
I-Codes by the International Code Council
The International Codes (I-Codes), developed by the International Code Council, are a family of fifteen coordinated, modern building safety codes that help ensure the engineering of safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures. The I-Codes are the most widely accepted, comprehensive set of model codes used in the United States. All fifty states, the District of Columbia, and many other countries have adopted the I-Codes at the state or jurisdictional level. (From the ICC website.)

Note: Many I-Codes are available through the ICC webpage for free, although some do require premium access.
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Free Access
As part of its commitment to enhancing public safety, NFPA makes its codes and standards available online to the public for free. Online access to NFPA's consensus documents conveniently places important safety information on the desktops of traditional users as well as others who have a keen interest. NFPA is committed to serving the public's increasing interest in technical information, and online access to these key codes is a valuable resource. (From the NFPA website.)

The NFPA develops and publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards -- including the National Electrical Code, the Fire Code, the Building Construction and Safety Code, and the Building Energy Code -- many of which are adopted at the state and local level. To view the codes, click the link and follow the instructions "to review codes and standards online." Note: You will be asked to create a profile and sign in to access the documents.
National Information Standards Organization (NISO) Standards and Recommended Practices
The National Information Standards Organization is a nonprofit membership organization that identifies, develops, maintains, and publishes technical standards to manage information.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) List of Free Standards
NIST also maintains a list of organizations that provide free access to their standards.
NIST Standards Incorporated by Reference (SIBR) Database
The SIBR database is a searchable collection of standards referenced in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including industry standards, government-unique standards, and international standards.
National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment (NOCSAE) Standards
NOCSAE develops performance standards for protective equipment used in a variety of sports. There are two types of standards; General and Sport-specific. The General standards apply to multiple different sport-specific standards, and should be referred to in addition to the sport-specific standards.
Simulation Interoperability Standards Organization (SISO) Standards
SISO Standards Products are formally approved items that reflect consensus agreements on products, practices, or operations, as required, by simulation industry applications. SISO Standards Products are to be stable, well understood, technically competent, and have multiple independent interoperable implementations. In addition SISO Standards Products should enjoy significant public support and be useful in some or all parts of the simulation community.
Sporting Arms and Ammunition Manufacturers’ Institute (SAAMI) Standards
The SAAMI Standards are published to provide safety, reliability, and interchangeability standards for commercial manufactures of firearms, ammunition, and components.
Snell Foundation Standards
The Snell Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization dedicated to research, education, testing and development of helmet safety standards. Since its founding in 1957, Snell has been a leader in helmet safety in the United States and around the world.

Organizations for Engineering Standards

The following list of standards developing organizations (SDOs) that produce standards for many different engineering communities is not exhaustive. Many of these organizations are specifically for engineers working in the United States of America, but other organizations exist and maintain their own standards in other parts of the world.

American Concrete Institute (ACI)
The American Concrete Institute is a leading global authority for the development, dissemination, and adoption of its consensus-based standards, technical resources, and educational, training, & certification programs. (From the ACI website.)
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private, non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards and conformity assessment system. (From the ANSI website.)
American Petroleum Institute (API)
API represents all segments of America’s oil and natural gas industry. API has developed more than 700 standards to enhance operational and environmental safety, efficiency and sustainability. (From the API website.)
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
ASHRAE, founded in 1894, is a global society advancing human well-being through sustainable technology for the built environment. The Society and its members focus on building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability within the industry. Through research, standards writing, publishing and continuing education, ASHRAE shapes tomorrow’s built environment today. (From the ASHRAE website.)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
ASME serves a wide-ranging engineering community through quality learning, the development of codes and standards, certifications, research, conferences and publications, government relations, and other forms of outreach. (From the ASME website.)
American Society of Plumbing Engineers (ASPE)
The American Society of Plumbing Engineers (ASPE) is the international organization for professionals skilled in the design, specification and inspection of plumbing systems. The Society disseminates technical data and information, sponsors activities that facilitate interaction with fellow professionals, and, through research and education, expands the base of knowledge of the plumbing engineering industry. (From the ASPE website.)
American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP)
The American Society of Safety Professionals is a global association for occupational safety and health professionals. For more than 100 years, we have supported occupational safety and health (OSH) professionals in their efforts to prevent workplace injuries, illnesses and fatalities. We provide education, advocacy, standards development and a professional community to our members in order to advance their careers and the OSH profession as a whole. (From the ASSP website.)
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International
Over 12,000 ASTM standards operate globally. Defined and set by us, they improve the lives of millions every day. Combined with our innovative business services, they enhance performance and help everyone have confidence in the things they buy and use. (From the ASTM website.)
Association for Materials Protection and Performance (AMPP)
AMPP protects infrastructure and assets worldwide through member and workforce education and credentialing, company accreditation, technological innovation, and global standardization. AMPP represents the largest global community of corrosion and protective coatings professionals. Our members are dedicated to advancing technical and practical expertise in corrosion prevention and control. (From the AMPP website.)
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 168 national standards bodies. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges. (From the ISO website.)
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) is a global self-funded nonprofit organization, established in 1896, devoted to eliminating death, injury, property and economic loss due to fire, electrical and related hazards. NFPA delivers information and knowledge through more than 300 consensus codes and standards, research, training, education, outreach and advocacy; and by partnering with others who share an interest in furthering our mission. (From the NFPA website.)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) was founded in 1901 and is now part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life. (From the NIST website.)
Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors' National Association (SMACNA)
The Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors’ National Association (SMACNA) is an international trade association representing 3,500 signatory contracting firms with more than 100 chapters throughout the United States, Canada, Australia, and Brazil. SMACNA's mission is to create a competitive advantage for SMACNA members through industry education, labor relations, standards development, industry representation, and business studies. (From the SMACNA website.)
The Masonry Society
The Masonry Society (TMS) is the premier professional, technical, and educational society dedicated to the advancement in knowledge of masonry technology. TMS creates the standards for masonry referenced in the International Building Codes and publishes technical design and construction information. (From the TMS website.)

Master of Science in Engineering Management Codes, Specifications, and Standards

Databases for Engineering Standards

Organizations for Engineering Standards