Affordable Instructional Materials & Linking to Library Resources: Open Educational Resources

Best Bets

OpenStax

• From Rice University
• Peer Reviewed
• Includes instructor resources
• Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities

LibreText

• From University of California Davis
• Contains interactive visualizations and 3D models
• Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Engineering, Medicine

BCcampusOpenEd

• From British Columbia
• Peer Reviewed
• Includes instructor resources
• Arts, Business, Education, Health, Law, Sciences, Social Sciences, and even some trades
• Contains a Faculty OER Toolkit

EdTech Books

• Free textbooks by educators
• Peer Reviewed
• Education, Literacy, Government and Civics, and Research Methods

Open SUNY Textbooks

• From SUNY
• Also includes OER courses
• Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Engineering

Open Textbook Library

• Indexes books from universities such as Clemson, CalPoly, and Colorado State
• Business, Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Engineering, Law

Others

American Institute of Mathematics

• Open textbooks approved by the American Institute of Mathematics

OpenTextBookStore

• Books are free
• Primarily mathematics

Washington 45

• Textbooks for courses in Washington
• General education English, math, arts, sciences, and history

Cornell Open

• New and out-of-print titles from Cornell University Press
• Anthropology, classics, German studies, literary criticism, political science, Slavic studies, and women's studies

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books

• Open access books, many from academic publishers

Gutenberg

• Free, public domain books

JSTOR Open Access Books

• From university presses
• Over 600 books from El Colegio de México

OAPEN

• Based in the Netherlands
• Work with publishers (many are university presses)
• Languages other than English
• Primarily Social Sciences, Humanities; also Business, Law, Science

Project MUSE Open Access

• From university presses
• Search through the library's Project MUSE platform to locate

Digital Public Library of America

• Links to libraries, archives, and museums
• Includes photographs, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, and artwork,

Khan Academy

• Educational videos
• All subjects

Open Culture

• Links to a/v resources from other sites.

Smithsonian Open Access

• images from the Smithsonian Institution

TED-ed

• Engaging short videos
• Curated playlists
• All subjects

Cool4ED

• California Open Online Library for Education
• Textbooks, course materials, courses, and journals
• All subjects

CORA: Community of Online Research Assignments

• Research assignments and teaching toolkits
• Sponsored by Loyola Marymount University Library

Galileo Open Learning Materials

• Open textbooks and materials from Georgia
• Business, Sciences, Social Sciences, Education, Engineering, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages, Philosophy

MERLOT

• Curated online learning and support materials
• International community of educators, learners and researchers.
• Can create course portfolios
• All subjects

MIT OpenCourseWare

• Materials from MIT courses
• Contains assignments, audio, video, and lectures; exams, simulations, and projects

OER Commons

• Digital library of open educational resources
• Can use it to create as well as locate

Open Washington

• Network of open education resources
• They have a free online course on OER

Open Yale Courses

• Lectures, syllabi, suggested readings, and problem sets
• Business, Sciences, Social Sciences, Engineering, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages

UNC Greensboro OER by Subject

• Lists individual repositories for 28 subject areas