Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Affordable Instructional Materials & Linking to Library Resources: Library Books and e-Books

This guide will provide information on how to link to library resources in Canvas, copyright guidelines, and contact information for more help.

Books and e-Books

When you use e-books, remember that in most cases, ONLY ONE PERSON CAN USE THAT BOOK AT A TIME.  Just like with print books, if one person is reading an e-book, another person can't.  If you know that you will need a book to have multiple readers at the same time, please contact your subject librarian.

e-Books

E-books are convenient because the student does not have to be in the library to use it, they can be searched by keyword, and the student needs to print out the pages needed.

You can tell whether a book is an e-book by looking at its location.  e-books will be located at "E-book."

Linking to them is similar to articles

 

Select the link that will lead  you to that e-Book collection. Once you are in the collection, select permalink.

Add the prefix http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= to the permalink:

 

And that's your URL: http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=67055&site=ehost-live

Creating e-book links

BOOKS

Database(s)

Vendor

How to Create the Article URL

AAP Red Book Online

American Academy of Pediatrics

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

ABX Guide (Johns Hopkins)

Unbound Medicine

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

AccessPediatrics

McGraw-Hill

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar
AccessPhysiotherapy McGraw-Hill http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

AGRICOLA

USDA

URL in address bar

AHFS Drug Information

STAT!Ref (Teton)

Click on link icon; for Authentication choose "Proxy" and copy link

Artech Access (UAB eBook Collections)

Artech House

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Book Review Digest Plus

EBSCO

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= plus Permalink

Case Files Collection (AccessMedicine)

McGraw-Hill

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

ClinicalKey

Elsevier

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Comprehensive Physiology

Wiley

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Cross Database Search Tool for Library of Latin Texts Brepolis http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Current Protocols in Cell Biology

Wiley

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Current Protocols in Immunology

Wiley

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology

Wiley

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Dental Trauma Guide

University Hospital Copenhagen

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Ebook Central (ProQuest)

ProQuest

Click on “Share Link to Book” and copy that link. Add http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= in front of the link.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

EBSCO

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= plus Permalink

E-HRAF World Cultures

HRAF

Click on “Cite” and copy link. Add http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= in front of the link.

eNCPT: Nutrition Terminology Reference Manual

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers

Wolters Kluwer

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Gale Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century Gale Use link provided by the “Get Link” icon and add http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= in front of the link

Harrison's Online

McGraw-Hill

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

HerbalGram

American Botanical Council

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore)

IEEE

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

 

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Library of Latin Texts: Series A Brepolis http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar
Library of Latin Texts: Series B Brepolis http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar
Lippincott Advisor LWW http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar
Lippincott Procedures LWW http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

McGraw-Hill Medical

McGraw-Hill

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Methods in Enzymology

Elsevier

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Monumenta Germaniae Historica Brepolis http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Nursing Collection (McGraw-Hill Education eBook Library)

McGraw-Hill

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Nutrition Care Manual (NCM)

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Ovid

Wolters Kluwer

Open “Email Jumpstart;” copy link and add http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= in front of the link

Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford University Press

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual (PNCM)

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

R2 Digital Library

Rittenhouse

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

SAE MOBILUS SAE International http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

ScienceDirect

Elsevier

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Sports Nutrition Care Manual (SNCM)

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Springer Nature Springer http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Stahl Online

Cambridge University Press

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref (Teton)

Click on link icon; for authentication choose "Proxy" and copy link

Synthesis Lectures on Biomedical Engineering

Morgan & Claypool

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Synthesis Lectures on Tissue Engineering

Morgan & Claypool

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Thieme MedOne Education

Thieme

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery Thieme http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar
USMLE First Aid Books McGraw-Hill http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url= + URL in the address bar
© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer