Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NIH Public Access Policy: My Bibliography

My Bibliography and eRA Commons

According to the NIH, for non-competing continuation grant awards with a start date of July 1, 2013 or beyond, NIH will hold processing of non-competing continuation awards if publications arising from grant awards are not in compliance with the Public Access Policy. (Read announcement)

The NIH recommends authors/PIs use My NCBI’s My Bibliography feature to monitor Public Access compliance for all the applicable papers that you author or arise from your NIH award.  Linked accounts will also be the only way to tie references to progress reports (RPPR) and for bibliographies in paper (PHS 2590) submissions. Learn more about the new features that have been added to MyBibliography for eRA Commons Users.

Click on the dropdown on the tab above, or on the links below to learn:

Using My Bibliography to Manage your Citations for NIH

My Bibliography is a tool for users to maintain and manage a list of all of their authored works. This video by the National Library of Medicine demonstrates how to use My Bibliography to manage compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy. 

This separate introductory video demonstrates basic functions of My Bibliography, including how to add citations.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer