Skip to Main Content
On this page you will see demonstrations on using databases to find method studies, technology assessments and economic evaluations.
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes:
Developed from Medline searches and hand searching
No full text is included
Useful for those preparing systematic reviews and meta-analyses
The Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments
Includes studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions from around the world.
No full text
The CRD is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR), UK, and is a department of the University of York.
CRD databases DARE, NHS EED and the HTA Database provide decision-makers with access to 20,000 systematic reviews, 10,000 economic evaluations and 9,000 records of health technology assessments.
The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED) systematically identifies economic evaluations from around the world
Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
This database addresses the difficulty in locating, appraising and interpreting information about cost-effectiveness when making healthcare decisions
This tutorial (1:43) shows the type of information about COPD retrieved in the Methods Studies result set.
This tutorial (2:10) views records from the Health Technology Assessments result set for the search on COPD.
This tutorial (2:22) demonstrates finding quality information about studies on the economic impact of COPD using the Cochrane Library.