The following is a list of select books that have been used by the committees which construct the NBDE II as reference.
Summitt's Fundamentals of Operative Dentistry : A Contemporary Approach by 
Peterson's Principles of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by 
Dental Radiography by
Inside you'll find the essential principles of radiation and the technical skills necessary for the safe and effective use of radiation in the dental office. The book serves as both a textbook and training manual by providing comprehensive coverage of basic theory and complete technical instruction. Procedures are presented in a detailed step-by-step format with accompanying illustrations, rationales, and charting notes. Includes a new interactive student CD-ROM. Chapters are short with topics separated into easy-to-digest sections. Content is divided into six parts, covering all necessary aspects of dental radiography Step-by-step procedures throughout the chapters include rationales and charting notes along with essential illustrations and photos to demonstrate techniques properly. Quiz questions for each chapter help students assess knowledge and comprehension. Example boxes are used throughout the chapters to further explain a process or why it is performed a certain way. An interactive CD-ROM, included in every book, features a variety of interactive exercises such as radiograph mounting and mastering steps in equipment assembly; animations to visualize key concepts of how digital radiographs are produced, panoramic positioning errors, and what happens within the dental x-ray tube; and patient case studies in the same format as the national board exam. New chapters on Descriptive Terminology and Interpretation of Restorations, Dental Materials, and Foreign Objects to ensure students know these topics inside and out, before they're tested on them when they take the national board exam.
Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation by 
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by
Be prepared to diagnose and manage any condition you encounter in your practice! This bestselling reference gives you direct access to a complete range of full-color clinical images and patient radiographs that illustrate the differentiating characteristics of lesions in the oral and maxillofacial region. Significantly revised and updated content throughout this edition brings you the latest information on the etiology, clinical features, histopathology, treatment, and prognosis of each disease entity, as well as cutting-edge topics such as bisphosphonate osteonecrosis, the oral complications associated with methamphetamine abuse, solitary fibrous tumors, gene mutation, and plasminogen deficiency. Comprehensive contemporary overview of oral and maxillofacial pathology includes a brief description of each individual lesion or pathologic condition and the kind of pathologic process that it represents, followed by a discussion of its clinical and/or radiographic presentation, histopathologic features, and its treatment and prognosis. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos facilitate the identification and classification of lesions and disease states. Up-to-date concepts of pathogenesis and disease management help you understand the diseases that affect oral and maxillofacial structures, formulate an accurate diagnosis, and institute proper treatment. Logical organization by body system or disease process makes it easy to look up specific conditions. Comprehensive appendix on differential diagnosis organizes disease entities according to their most prominent or identifiable clinical features, helping you find and formulate differential diagnoses. Information on forensic dentistry, methamphetamine, and gene mutations addresses some of today's leading topics in oral pathology research. Differential diagnosis case studies on the Evolve companion website include correct answers and rationales, offering more opportunities to improve your identification skills and diagnostic competency. NEW cutting-edge content includes pathologies and conditions such as localized juvenile spongiotic gingival hyperplasia, oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers, oropharyngeal carcinomas related to human papillomavirus (HPV), IgG4-related disease and mammary analogue secretory carcinomas, Globodontia, Lobodontia, Leishmaniasis, and Xanthelasma. Over 130 NEW full-color photos and over 40 NEW radiographs bring common and uncommon disease states more clearly to life.
Contemporary Orthodontics by 
Orthodontics - E-Book by
Comprehensive, cutting-edge content prepares you for today's orthodontics! Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 6th Edition provides evidence-based coverage of orthodontic diagnosis, planning strategies, and treatment protocols, including esthetics, genetics, temporary anchorage devices, aligners, technology-assisted biomechanics, and much more. New to this edition is an Expert Consult website using videos and additional visuals to show concepts difficult to explain with words alone. Expert Consult also adds three online-only chapters, research updates, and a fully searchable version of the text. From respected editors Lee Graber, Robert Vanarsdall, Katherine Vig, and Greg Huang, along with a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, this classic reference has a concise, no-nonsense approach to treatment that makes it the go-to book for orthodontic residents and practitioners! Comprehensive coverage provides a one-stop resource for the field of orthodontics, including foundational theory and the latest on the materials and techniques used in today's practice. Experienced, renowned editors lead a team of expert, international contributors, bringing the most authoritative clinical practice and supporting science from the best and brightest in the industry. More than 3,400 images include a mixture of radiographs, full-color clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatment, techniques, and outcomes. Extensive references make it easy to look up the latest in orthodontic research and evidence-based information, and all references also appear online. Detailed, illustrated case studies show the decision-making process, showing the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. NEW! Seven all-new chapters include Orthodontic Diagnosis and Treatment Planning with Cone-Beam Computed Tomography Imaging; Upper Airway, Cranial Morphology, and Sleep Apnea; Management of Impactions; Iatrogenic Effects of Orthodontic Appliances; Minimally and Non-Invasive Approaches to Accelerate Tooth Movement; Management of Dental Luxation and Avulsion Injuries in the Permanent Dentition; and Patient Management and Motivation for the Child and Adolescent Patient. NEW! Expert Consult website includes online-only chapters, instructional videos, many references linked to PubMed, and research updates including additional case studies. UPDATED CHAPTERS include Biomechanical Considerations with Temporary Anchorage Devices, Bonding in Orthodontics, Clear Aligner Treatment, Lingual Appliance Treatment, Psychological Aspects of Diagnosis and Treatment, Clinically Relevant Aspects of Dental Materials Science in Orthodontics, The Biologic Basis of Orthodontics, and more. New co-editor Greg J. Huang is joined by new contributors who are highly regarded experts within their respective subspecialties in orthodontics.
Dentistry, Dental Practice, and the Community by 
Jong's Community Dental Health by
JONG'S COMMUNITY DENTAL HEALTH focuses on the role of the dental public health care professional in the socially conscious health field. Dental students, dental hygiene students, and dental assisting students need a practical overview of the role of the dental professional in the health care community. The dentist's role has evolved to a much more active member of the health team, concerned with preventive and early diagnostic services. The book is organized to follow the objectives of dental hygiene courses in community dentistry. Summary and analysis of the latest manpower predictions on the 21st century The latest public health law The most recent updates in health education The most current information on managed care in dentistry New topics: technology and its impact on public health and community dentistry; globalism; diversity; new information on Hepatitis C
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
This full-color text prepares dental professionals to promptly and proactively recognize and manage medical emergencies that may occur in the dental office. It details how to anticipate potential emergencies and what resources must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. The book is arranged in eight sections concentrating on topics such as prevention of emergencies through patient evaluation (medical history) and specific types of more common emergencies that practitioners may encounter. "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies."Reviewed by: European Journal of Orthodontics, March 2015 "..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent by 
Pediatric Dentistry by
Provide superior oral and dental care to children of all ages! Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. From a team of accomplished authors and contributors led by Arthur J. Nowak, this edition includes a new Expert Consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text. UNIQUE! Age-specific organization separates sections and chapters by age group to cover specific changes the child experiences physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. Fundamentals of Pediatric Dentistry section covers basic information on children of all ages, including topics such as local and systemic diseases, pediatric physiology, cariology, pain control, and medical emergencies. Coverage of current trends and challenges emphasizes the prevention of dental diseases and reflects pediatric dentistry as it is practiced today. UPDATED coverage of caries risk assessment in children reflects the evolution of evidence-based oral health care. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show dental conditions and treatments. NEW and UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers additional content and includes case studies along with procedural videos for practical, real-world application. NEW chapters cover cariology, pain control, and cleft lip and palate; other updates include infant oral health, pit and fissure sealants, regenerative endodontics, and the risk factors surrounding the transition from adolescence to adulthood. NEW! Greater diversity of contributors includes expert perspectives from all over the world. NEW! Expert Consult case studies are included in 33 chapters. NEW! Video clips of procedures are included in the Expert Consult case studies. NEW! Review questions and answers are included in the Expert Consult case studies, with three questions per case study.
Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry by
This fourth edition of Clinical Periodontology and Implant Dentistry is the ultimate resource on periodontics. The editors are joined by over 50 expert contributors to address the full spectrum of periodontal issues. The book's coverage extends logically from the anatomy of the periodontium through to treatment options, and elucidates the relationship between periodontal and restorative dental therapies. The section dedicated to implants the increasing importance of this form of oral rehabilitation. This section includes new chapters on implant placement in the esthetic zone and issues related to supportive therapy in the implant patient. With an approximate 25% increase in length, the fourth edition keeps pace with the level of interest and growth of research in periodontology. Chapters included in previous editions have been updated and many new chapters added, including modifying factors in periodontal disease, risk assessment, and genetics in relation to periodontitis. The remarkable scholarship evident in the text is matched only by the quality of the illustrations, which guide the reader through the wealth of material detailed in the book. These features combine to make essential reading for the discerning student and practitioner and an asset to the faculty or practice library. Key Features Includes fourteen new chapters Features 2000 illustrations, with over 1500 in color Distills significant and original research findings Includes detailed case reports Editors and contributors provide an international perspective
Fundamentals of Periodontal Instrumentation and Advanced Root Instrumentation by
This instructional guide to periodontal instrumentation takes students from the basic skills, patient positioning, intraoral finger rests, and basic instrumentation, all the way to advanced techniques, assessment of periodontal patients and instrumentation of multirooted teeth, root concavities, and furcation areas. The Fifth Edition retains the features that made this the market leading textbook on periodontal instrumentation and adds new features designed to facilitate learning and teaching, such as critical thinking activities, patient cases, learning objectives, and a glossary of instrumentation terms. A faculty resource CD-ROM includes an image bank, test bank, instructor's guide, teaching tips, and skill evaluation forms.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology by
From basic science and fundamental procedures to the latest advanced techniques in reconstructive, esthetic, and implant therapy, Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 13th Edition is the resource you can count on to help master the most current information and techniques in periodontology. Full color photos, illustrations, radiographs and videos show you how to perform periodontal procedures, while renowned experts from across the globe explain the evidence supporting each treatment and lend their knowledge on how to best manage the outcomes. UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers a versatile print and digital resources that help bring text information to life. UNIQUE! Bonus content on Expert Consult includes multiple-choice self-assessment questions with instant feedback, chapter review PowerPoint slides, videos clips, case studies, and more. UNIQUE! Periodontal Pathology Atlas contains the most comprehensive collection of cases found anywhere. Full-color photos and anatomical drawings clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce important principles. UNIQUE! Chapter opener boxes in the print book alert readers when more comprehensive coverage of topics is available in the online version of the text. NEW! Chapters updated to meet the current exam requirements for the essentials in periodontal education. NEW! Case-based clinical scenarios incorporated throughout the book mimic the new patient case format used in credentialing exams. NEW! Additional tables, boxes, and graphics highlight need-to-know information. NEW! Virtual microscope on Expert Consult offers easy access to high-resolution views of select pathology images. NEW! Two new chapters cover periimplantitis and resolving inflammation. NEW! Section on evidence-based practice consists of two chapters covering evidence-based decision making and critical thinking.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Clinical Pharmacology by
'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by
The most universally respected and read text in all of pharmacology - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments Goodman & Gilman''s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology.Goodman & Gilman''s careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. Enriched by a full-color presentation and updated to reflect all critical new developments in drug action and drug-disease interaction, the thirteenth edition includes more than 440 color illustrations depicting key principles and actions of specific pathways and therapeutic agents. · NEW chapters on hypertension therapy, myocardial ischemia therapy, treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertension, immunostimulants and vaccines, and treatment of viral hepatitis, as well as appendices on prescription order writing, patient compliance, and pharmacokinetics · 440+ full-color illustrations · More than a textbook, a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice Goodman & Gilman''s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13e is divided into nine sections, covering: · General Principles · Neuropharmacology · Modulation of Pulmonary, Renal, and Cardiovascular Function · Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis · Endocrine Pharmacology · Gastrointestinal Pharmacology · Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease
Dental Implant Prosthetics by
This new book focuses on dental implants used in conjunction with other prosthetic devices in the general dentist's office, designed to help the partially or completely edentulous patient recover normal function, esthetics, comfort, and speech. Step-by-step procedures guide practitioners through challenging clinical situations and assist them in refining their technique. The information in this practical, highly illustrated book reflects the latest in continued research, diagnostic tools, treatment planning, implant designs, materials, and techniques. Prosthetic devices covered in this include complete dentures, bridges, overdentures, and various dental implant systems. Treatment supported by clinical evidence equips students with a more targeted evidence-based approach to patient procedures. NEW! Emphasis on treatment planning helps decrease the number of visits while providing effective, long-term results for the patient. NEW! Focus on the patient presentation offers the latest treatment options for bone harvesting, restoration and recovery. NEW! Original illustrations and photos highlight and clarify key clinical concepts and techniques.
Dental Implants by
For coverage of cutting-edge techniques and procedures, Dental Implants: The Art and Science is your "go to" reference This edition includes 20 new chapters and coverage of the latest advances and research from leading dental implant experts. Topics range from the business of dental implants and risk management to new treatment techniques such as Teeth In A Day(R) and Teeth In An Hour(TM), the All-on-4 concept, Piezoelectric bone surgery, the new NobelActiveTM implant, the use of dental implants in children, and more. Over 1,100 full-color clinical photographs and illustrations bring concepts to life and provide step-by-step visuals for surgical and prosthetic techniques. If you're looking for a comprehensive, up-to-date resource you can trust, Dental Implants is the book you need Over 1,100 full-color clinical photographs and line drawings help to clarify important concepts and provide step-by-step guidance for specific techniques.All aspects of both business and patient care are covered, including risk management, patient selection and master planning, radiographic evaluation, surgical techniques, postoperative care, maintenance, and dental hygiene.Highly-regarded lead author Charles A. Babbush, DDS, MScD, is one of the leading dental implant surgeons in the world and a highly regarded educator, speaker, and author.Expert contributors from all over the world describe the latest advances in implantology and represent the forefront of research.
Esthetic Rehabilitation in Fixed Prosthodontics by
Advances in technology and biomaterials have dramatically expanded the possibilities for esthetic optimization in restorative dentistry. Too often, however, such treatment focuses exclusively on the dental area and fails to consider the overall facial composition. This easy-to-read text provides the clinician with a systematic approach to facial evaluation during esthetic treatment planning. Separate chapters guide the reader to an understanding of the esthetic parameters involved in facial, dentolabial, phonetic, dental, and gingival analysis. Each chapter presents prosthetic considerations and applications that allow the clinician to formulate an optimal treatment plan based on the individual clinical situation of the patient. Also provided is an esthetic checklist that allows the clinician to apply the principles described in the text to everyday practice. Amply illustrated, this text is an invaluable tool for all clinicians practicing esthetic and restorative dentistry.
Fundamentals of Fixed Prosthodontics by
This edition has been updated to reflect new research, materials, and techniques in fixed prosthodontics. It is designed to serve as an introduction to restorative dentistry techniques using fixed partial dentures and cast metal, metal-ceramic, and all-ceramic restorations, providing the background knowledge needed by the novice and serving as a refresher for the practitioner or graduate student.
Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion by
Covering both new and proven techniques in this rapidly changing field, this book helps you provide solutions to many common occlusal and TMD problems. Clear descriptions ensure that you develop a complete understanding of both normal and dysfunctional occlusal relationships and masticatory function. With this book's conservative, cost-effective approach, you'll achieve your treatment goals while keeping the best interests of your patients in mind. Solid foundation of the anatomical, physiological, and biomechanical aspects of the masticatory system gives you the basic foundation for clinical use. Detailed how-to information on clinical examination, data gathering, and differential diagnosis for temporomandibular disorders helps you learn to correctly plan treatment. Clinical Comment boxes give you critical thinking points and instructions on how to apply these to everyday clinical practice. NEW! Robust Q-website features an image library, case studies, and NBDE-style questions. NEW! Full-color design offers more vivid clinical photos, illustrations, and information. NEW! Major revisions to Part II with specific detail to Etiology provides more up-to-date information on this critical area. NEW! Patient education sheets include the most common TMDs. NEW! Updated treatment algorithms are included for each TMD.
McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics by
The leading prosthodontics resource for more than 40 years, McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics provides the information you need to successfully manage the replacement of missing teeth. It covers the basic principles of treatment planning and design, and discusses the newest techniques, procedures, and equipment. Well-known educators Alan B. Carr, DMD, MS, and David T. Brown, DDS, MS use an evidence-based approach that helps you diagnose, design, develop, and sequence a treatment plan. A new chapter in this edition explains how to select and use implants to improve prosthesis performance. From initial contact with the patient to post-treatment care, from basic concepts to advanced material, this full-color text provides a complete foundation in prosthodontic care. Colored boxes highlight the more advanced topics, so it's easy to focus on content that's appropriate for your level of experience. Evidence-based approach uses current research to help you diagnose, design, develop, and sequence a treatment plan. Various philosophies and techniques are presented, so you can select and incorporate applicable techniques on a case-by-case basis. Chapters are presented in three logically-sequenced sections to keep specific focus areas together: General Concepts/Treatment Planning Clinical and Laboratory Maintenance Additional information on the use of implants includes: New Considerations for the Use of Dental Implants with Removable Partial Dentures chapter, on improving prosthesis performance through increasing functional stability New section on impact of implants on movements of partial denture New section on implants as a rest New section on implants as direct retainers New section on implant considerations in design New full-color drawings and photographs show techniques, materials, and anatomical detail more accurately.
Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients by
Covering the functional and esthetic needs of edentulous patients, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients: Complete Dentures and Implant-Supported Prostheses, 13th Edition helps you provide complete dentures, with and without dental implant support. It addresses both the behavioral and clinical aspects of diagnosis and treatment and covers treatment modalities including osseointegration, overdentures, implant-supported fixed prosthesis, and the current and future directions of implant prosthodontics. New to this edition are full-color photographs and coverage of immediately loaded complete dental prostheses. From lead editor and respected educator George Zarb, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients provides an atlas of clinical procedures and emphasizes the importance of evidence-based treatment. Short, easy-to-read chapters cover the essentials of care for both short- and long-term patients, stressing the importance of evidence-based treatment. Expanded coverage of implant prosthodontics addresses the clinical protocols for implant-retained and implant-supported prosthodontic management. Specific chapters address the three surfaces of the complete denture: (1) an impression or intaglio surface, (2) a polished surface, and (3) an occlusal surface, the integration of which is crucial to creating a stable, functional, and esthetic result. Chapter on health and nutrition examines a number of systemic conditions (vesciculoerosive conditions, systemic lupus erythematosus, burning mouth syndrome, salivary dysfunction, Sjögren''s syndrome, hyper/hyposalivation, diabetes) that affect the oral cavity and specifically influence the prognosis for wearing complete dentures or for accepting osseointegrated prostheses. Chapter on the time-dependent changes which occur in the oral cavity focuses on both time-related direct (ulcer/cheek biting, irritation hyperplasia, denture stomatitis, flabby ridge and pendulous maxillary tuberosities, hyperkeratosis and oral cancer, residual ridge reduction) and indirect (atrophy of masticatory muscles, nutritional status and masticatory function, control of sequelae) changes in the oral environment, and provides strategies to minimize the risk of such changes. Chapter on the techniques used to prolong the life of complete dentures focuses on the two techniques used to extend the life of dentures: relining and rebasing, also touching on denture duplication. Well-respected editors and contributors are the leaders in their field, lending credibility and experience to each topic. NEW! Over 800 full-color photos and illustrations highlight key clinical and esthetic details. NEW Immediately Loaded Complete Dental Prostheses chapter describes the rationale for the popular approach to immediately loading full arch implant supported/retained prostheses, allowing both enhanced functional outcomes and an accelerated time frame for completion of treatment. NEW The Impact of Socioeconomic, Cultural and Technological Changes and the Notion of Standards of Care and Alternative Protocols chapter addresses the "appropriatech" concept of providing cost-effective, appropriate care and describes techniques that make complete dentures accessible to those who do not have access to alternative care, including discussions of alternative protocols such as Complete Dentures in Four Clinical Sessions (CD4). Completely revised Materials Used in the Management of Edentulous Patients chapter includes expanded information on the properties, behaviors, and limitations of dental materials used in the rehabilitation of the edentulous patient, including impression materials (such as zinc oxide-eugenol impression paste, hydrocolloids, agar, and silicones), polymeric denture base materials (including rapid-cure type resins, biocompatibility of acrylic-based resins, residual monomer content, and radio-opacity of denture bases), denture cleansers (microwave radiation), and denture adhesives (such as adjunctive retention, indications/contraindications, application, and adverse reactions).
Contact us:
Lister Hill Library
2nd Floor
205-934-2231
Sterne Library
HUB Desk
205-934-6364
