Skip to main content

Finding Test Instruments: HaPI

A guide on finding surveys, questionnaires, and research instruments.

Why Search HAPI?

Health and Psychosocial Instruments.

HaPI is a database that carries information on approximately 15,000 research instruments (questionnaires, interviews, schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the field of health and psychological sciences, as well as instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education.    

You will not find the actual instrument in HaPI, but you will be able to:

  • Discover what instruments exist
  • Determine the availability of reliability and validity evidence
  • Track the history of an instrument over time
  • See what other instruments have already been developed in your field of study
  • Locate ordering information for a known instrument.
The full-text of the instruments are not included in the database; however, HaPI can be used to:
* Discover what instruments exist;
* Determine the availability of reliability and validity evidence;
* Track the history of an instrument over time;
* See what other instruments have already developed in your field of study;
* Locate ordering information for a known instrument.
Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. - See more at: http://www.ovid.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=13051&catalogId=13151&langId=-1&partNumber=Prod-866#sthash.2h6eEryB.dpuf
is a database that provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. - See more at: http://www.ovid.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=13051&catalogId=13151&langId=-1&partNumber=Prod-866#sthash.2h6eEryB.dpu\
is a database that provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. - See more at: http://www.ovid.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=13051&catalogId=13151&langId=-1&partNumber=Prod-866#sthash.2h6eEryB.dpuf
is a database that provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. - See more at: http://www.ovid.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=13051&catalogId=13151&langId=-1&partNumber=Prod-866#sthash.2h6eEryB.dpuf

Visual Aids & Tips on the HaPI Basic Search

HaPI is not like other Ebsco databases.

After running a basic search (by a particular test title, or by subject term), you will generate a list of results of that look very similar to the results produced in other Ebsco databases (see Figure 1).  But they are not the same.

Here are some important differences to consider when searching HaPI:  

  1. The titles in blue are not the titles of the articles.  They are the titles of the Test Instruments used.  (See Figure 2) 
  2. Each item in your generated list is associated with an article that uses that instrument.  The title of the article is displayed under the title of the test in blue, and the journal title is listed as "Source".
  3. To find the article that uses the instrument, use the Full Text@UAB Libraries button.
  4. You can use the Test Instrument's citation, listed on the References page, to locate the actual test.  
  5. If you cannot locate the article or the test, or if get an error message after using the Full Text@UAB Libraries button, you can use the LHL Finding Full Text Guide to help you.  OR Chat with a Librarian--We may have the article, and we're happy to double check for you.

 

Figure 1


 

 

Figure 2



 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer