As of January 1, 2020, the UAB Libraries now subscribe to SciFindern.
SciFindern is the next generation of SciFinder and includes new tools (MethodsNow, PatentPak, Retrosynthesis, and ChemDoodle) and features (all search option, chemical suppliers search option, enhanced substance searching, reaction scheme, relevance ranking, search history, citation map, multiple browser tab searching, and keep me signed in option).
First time users must register and create a username and password for SciFinder.
Registration requires a valid UAB email address.
Instructions for activating your SciFinder account will be sent to your email address.
Sign in using your SciFinder username and password.
Enter your BlazerID and password to be authenticated by the UAB Libraries then sign in using your SciFinder username and password.
Review the training materials by CAS.
Online Help
Review the online help within the database.
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature. It is produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) which is a division of the American Chemical Society (ACS).
SciFinder is a collection of CAS databases plus MEDLINE.
| REGISTRY | Substances | Provides information about organic and inorganic substances from 1965 to the present. |
| CHEMLIST | Substances | Provides information for inventoried or regulated chemicals from 1980 to the present. |
| MARPAT | Substances | Provides access to Markush structures in patents from 1988 to the present. |
| CASREACT | Reactions | Provides information for reactions from 1985 to the present. |
| CAPLUS | References | Covers the chemical literature from 1907 to the present. Online version of Chemical Abstracts. |
| MEDLINE | References | Covers the biomedical literature from 1946 to the present. Free version is PubMed. |
| CHEMCATS | Suppliers | Provides information for suppliers of commercially available chemicals. |
SciFinder may be searched by substances, reactions, references, and suppliers either separately or together at the same time.
