Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CH 790: Introduction to Graduate Research: SciFinder

User Registration

User Registration

First time users must register and create a username and password for SciFinder.

Registration requires a valid UAB email address.

Instructions for activating your SciFinder account will be sent to your email address.

Access SciFinder

On-campus Registered Users

Sign in using your SciFinder username and password.

Off-campus Registered Users

Enter your BlazerID and password to be authenticated by the UAB Libraries then sign in using your SciFinder username and password.

Get Help

SciFinder Training

Review the training materials by CAS.

Online Help

Review the online help within the database.

About SciFinder

SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature.  It is produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) which is a division of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

SciFinder is a collection of CAS databases plus MEDLINE.

REGISTRY Substances Provides information about organic and inorganic substances from 1965 to the present.
CHEMLIST Substances Provides information for inventoried or regulated chemicals from 1980 to the present.
MARPAT Substances Provides access to Markush structures in patents from 1988 to the present.
CASREACT Reactions Provides information for reactions from 1985 to the present.
CAPLUS References Covers the chemical literature from 1907 to the present.  Online version of Chemical Abstracts.
MEDLINE References Covers the biomedical literature from 1946 to the present.  Free version is PubMed.
CHEMCATS Suppliers Provides information for suppliers of commercially available chemicals.

Search SciFinder

SciFinder may be searched by substances, reactions, references, and suppliers either separately or together at the same time.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer