Research Guides: Medical Images: Historical Images

Reynolds-Finley Historical Library

From William Harvey's De motu cordis & sanguinis in animalibus, anatomica exercitatio (1639). Reynolds-Finley Historical Library, The University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Historical Medical Images

Reynolds-Finley Historical Library/University of Alabama at Birmingham
Library maintains a growing collection of over 13,000 rare books and manuscripts pertaining to the history of medicine.
UAB Digital Collections
Medical image collections include Pellagra in Alabama, Florence Nightingale Letters, Birmingham Medical College and the Dr. Lawrence Reynolds WWI Photographs, many of which are from wartime hospitals.
UAB Archives/Image of the Month
Images posted monthly from the UAB Archives, many from Health Science Schools associated with UAB.
American Eugenics Movement
Materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, which was the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940.
Anatomia 1522 - 1867
This collection from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto, features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy.
Bernard Becker Medical Library Image Gallery
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Images found within the Archives and Rare Books of the Medical Library.
BIU Sante Banque d'images
Over 145,000 historical images drawn from the collection of the Bibliotheque interuniversitaire de Sante in Paris
Epact: Scientific Instruments of Medieval and Renaissance Europe
British Museum/London
Images from the History of Medicine/U.S. National Library of Medicine
Included are illustrations and photographs from the 15th through the 21st century.
Index of Medieval Medical Images
This project from University of California Los Angeles, began in 1988 and aimed to describe and index the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components held in North American collections.
John Martin Rare Book Room Images/University of Iowa
These unique sets of several hundred images include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics.
The MacKinney's Collection of Medieval Medical Illustrations
Patent Medicine Cards
A collection of 247 patent medicine trade cards, which are small, illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures.
Visual Culture and Health Posters
Profiles in Science/National Library of Medicine
Wellcome Images
A source of images on the history of medicine, modern bio-medical science and clinical medicine.

Reynolds-Finley Historical Library

From Bernhard Siegfried's Historia musculorum hominis (1734). Reynolds-Finley Historical Library, The University of Alabama at Birmingham.