Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Educational Resources for Residents and Fellows: Clinical Tools

information on accessing resources remotely, and specific tools that will assist with continuing education efforts for residents and fellows.

Access Resources You Need from Off Campus

To access library resources from off campus, and to set up access via apps, begin at the library website

  1. For journals or ebooks, search in the library catalog, click the title of interest, and locate the link for online access. You will be asked to log in with your BlazerID and password (unless you are attached to a VPN)..
  2. For databases, locate the resource of interest from the Databases list, and click.  You will be asked to log in with your BlazerID and password (unless you are attached to a VPN)..
  3. Once on the homepage for the resource, create a personal account as required by the particular resource (not all resources need this)-do not use your BlazerID and password.
  4. If you want to use a resource's app, download the app for your particular platform, and log in with your newly created username and password

Searching the Journal Literature

Look for the Full Text at UAB Libraries button to access full text of articles

or request copies via ILLiad

Managing Article Citations

Use a bibliographic reference management software to organize citations, format footnotes and bibliographies

Evidence-Based Practice and Point of Care Tools

BMJ Best Practice

Point of care database that supports best practices in relation to patient treatment.

Cochrane Library

Systematic reviews, clinical trials, & studies for evidence-based medicine.

ECRI Guidelines Trust

Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

JAMAEvidence

JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide

Evidence-based decision support tool for infectious disease.

NEJM Journal Watch

NEJM Journal Watch always delivers the latest medical research developments in a clinically relevant context, and helps clinicians be clinically prepared with succinct and easy-to-read summaries and expert comments in each issue.

UpToDate

Clinical decision support resource, includes medical calculators and patient education materials.

VisualDX

Diagnostic decision support system to aid in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.

Clinical Procedural Videos and Multimedia

** Some of These Resources May Require Individual Registration to Use All Features **

Academic Videos Online-Health Sciences

Videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers on dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science.

Access Medicine, and Specialties-Multimedia

Includes textbooks, images, video/audio, diagnostic tests, current practice guidelines, patient education information, & test/study tools.

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination

Videos demonstrating head-to-toe & systems-based physical examination techniques. Also includes test prep videos for OSCEs or Objective Structured Clinical Examinations.

BMJ Best Practice-Procedural Videos

Point of care database that supports best practices in relation to patient treatment.

ClinicalKey-Procedure Videos

Clinical information platform supporting research, learning, & point of care decision making. Includes Procedures Consult.

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Clinical Procedure Tutorials

Web version of the textbook Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.  Updated every 2 weeks.

JoVE Video Journal

Peer-reviewed scientific video journal. UAB subscription includes: Biology, Immunology & Infection, Medicine, Neuroscience, and the Basic Biology section of the Science Education collection.

LWW Health Library-Video and Audio

Provides clinical and educational content including books, audio files, videos and case studies.

NEJM 360-Learning Lab

Clinical content targeted specifically to residents’ needs, guidance in career decisions, and a way to connect with peers.

Thieme MedOne Education-Media

Clinical content including e-books, e-journals, cases, procedures, images, audios, and videos.

 

Case Files and Review Materials

** Some of These Resources May Require Individual Registration to Use All Features **

Clinical Services Librarian

Tracy Powell's picture
Tracy Powell
schedule a class
Contact:
Lister Hill Library at University Hospital
WP P235A
619 19th ST S
Birmingham, AL 35249
205.934.3752
Website
© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer