Research Guides: Educational Resources for Residents and Fellows: Find Books and Journals

Find Books and Journals at UAB Libraries

Log in to My Library Account to search for books and journals in the library catalog
- Electronic resources will have links to the content
Locate the desired book and select the library location where you want to pick it up
- Print books can be picked up or returned at any UAB Libraries Location

Always search databases through the UAB Libraries access. And look for this button to link you to full text:

Then follow the images below to PDFs.

Get journal articles delivered electronically and print books mailed UAB Libraries for pickup free of charge
While searching in UAB database like PubMed, click the green "Full Text at UAB Libraries" button to access articles. If the article is not available online, a page will pop up where you can request a copy via InterLibrary Loan.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Clinical information platform supporting research, learning, & point of care decision making. Includes Procedures Consult.

Individual account required for PDF book chapter downloads.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
Provides clinical and educational content including books, audio files, videos and case studies. Health library collections includes access to Advanced Practice Nursing, Clerkship/Clinical Rotations, Lippincott Advisor Health Library, Medical Education, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Surgery.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of health science e-books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scientific, technical, and medical literature in journals published by Elsevier Science. Content from 1995 - present.

To access library resources from off campus, and to set up access via apps, begin at the library website

For journals or ebooks, search in the library catalog, click the title of interest, and locate the link for online access. You will be asked to log in with your BlazerID and password (unless you are attached to a VPN).
For databases, locate the resource of interest from the Databases list, and click. You will be asked to log in with your BlazerID and password (unless you are attached to a VPN).
Once on the homepage for the resource, create a personal account as required by the particular resource (not all resources need this)-do not use your BlazerID and password.
If you want to use a resource's app, download the app for your particular platform, and log in with your newly created username and password.