Skip to main content

EndNote (Desktop Version): Connecting to Databases Through EndNote

Connecting through EndNote

EndNote's online search feature allows users to connect to, search, and import information from external databases. A connection file for each external database is needed to allow online searching from within EndNote. 

Connecting to Databases

1. Select the Online Search option from the Tools menu. 

 

2. Select the database to connect to during online search. In this example, EndNote is connected to the PubMed database, and a search has been completed for the words "parachute randomised" in the title field. 

3. Three references were retrieved through the online search. 

4. To add the 3 references to the EndNote Library, highlight the references, then select References -> Copy References To -> destination. 

5. The copied references will be appear in the EndNote library. A summary number of the total number of references copied will appear in the left column in the EndNote library. 

1. Select the Online Search option from the Tools menu. 

 

2. Select the database to connect to during online search. In this example the PubMed database is selected.

 

 3. In this example a search has been completed for the words "parachute randomised" in the title field.Three references were retrieved through the online search. 

4. To add the 3 references to the EndNote Library, highlight the references, then select References -> Copy References To -> destination. 

 

5. The copied refereces will appear in the EndNote library. A summary number of the total number of references copied will appear in the left column in the EndNote library. 

 

 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer