Skip to main content

EndNote (Desktop Version): Save PDFs

Acceptable Use

Please read our Acceptable Use FAQ regarding appropriate use of electronic resources, especially if you use method 1 described to the right (Let EndNote find the full-text for you).

Add Full-Text Articles to EndNote Citations

One of the most popular features of EndNote is the ability to store full-text articles (usually in PDF format) with a citation. There are a few ways to locate PDFs and place them into EndNote:

1) Let EndNote find the full-text for you. EndNote will locate and download full-text PDFs for you when full-text is available through the library's subscriptions or for free on the web. (EndNote typically can not find ALL PDFs but it often finds many. An EndNote preference must be set to optimize this feature.)

2) Manually add PDFs to EndNote records. Obtain articles from a library database, the Internet, or elsewhere, save the PDF articles to your computer, and attach those files to the corresponding EndNote citation records. (Note: You can also use this method to store other file types with EndNote records.)

3) Add EndNote records to your library by importing PDF files. If you already have PDF full text files saved on your computer, you can import those PDFs into EndNote. If the PDFs have the appropriate metadata saved with them, EndNote is able to create new records in your library with all of the citation information for each article and simultaneously attach the PDF files. (Note: Not all PDFs contain the necessary metadata for this to work.)

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer